I love to decorate!  I eat, sleep and dream in HGTV!  I get some really great ideas and always want to change things up around our home.  I get bored with the same old things I see everyday (I work from home, so that makes it even worse!).  I get in one of my modes… I start pacing around the house, “shopping” for items I need for my new project.  My husband has tried to slow this process down by purchasing large furniture pieces that I can not move on my own… doesn’t work though!

So you are probably wondering… how does this relate to the Blog title “Double Duty?”   Easy!  It’s taking an item made for a specific purpose and changing it up to fit another!  I will share a few of my favorites; so hang on:

A table runner makes a great window valance with just a few cafe’ curtain clips.  A new window look is just a runner away! 

Window panels can be fan folded and looped thru larger rings for a updated swag look.  Use the tie backs (that come with some panels) as rings to create a different swag look.  These tie backs can also be used for napkin rings at your dinner table to coordinate a whole look. 

Window panels can also be made into blinds; go to a fabric store and purchase tape with little loops/pull strings attached.  Sew onto the back of panels – you have blinds!

Bamboo window blinds are a great wainscotting for a small bedroom or breakfast bar in a kitchen once you remove the hardware and add trim moulding for a finished look.

A framed mirror makes a great table top; use a plant stand for the base.  This makes a nice sidetable or nightstand.  A glass top and two taller plant stands for the base makes a great foyer table, sofa table or even a “headboard” for a bed.

Got an old dresser stashed somewhere?  Take it out of storage and dust it off.  Beat up? Paint smattered or just needs a new finish?  (Check out my faux painting blog.)  A dresser makes a great foyer table; a bonus is the storage you gain!  A small one in a bathroom can double as linen “closet.”  Our house does not have any linen closets so a dresser works well.

This same dresser could make a nice bathroom vanity!  Modify the drawers to make them into doors and this dresser could be used as an entertainment center, a bar…. 

An old rickety wooden ladder (or two) and wood planks, cabinet fronts for the shelves, make a great etagere or bookcase. 

A kitchen table can double as a desk in an office, a work surface in a sewing room.  Modify the legs and it can be reworked into a coffee table.

 An old wooden door can be made into a headboard.  Use two sawhorses as table legs and the door as a table top.  Take two doors, cut them in half, hinge together and you have a room divider. 

You know that crib you or your mom is holding on to?   It can be made into a bench for a garden or foyer!  Same with an old headboard and footboard.

Notice that a lot of these ideas can be modified, broken down to be stashed away, or returned to original use.  Your imagination is your only limitation!

